Mud On Her Boots

DIY's, Life Stories, and Travel Adventures from the view of a twenty something.

Weekend Thoughts

I went home this weekend hoping to clear my head of the many random thoughts which happened to be running ramped. Being in town with nothing to do tends to have that effect on me.

On the drive winding through those back country roads, I noticed all the fields had been planted and I realized all I wanted was a tractor ride. When I was a little girl, the farmers who farmed the ground around our property would always give my brother and I a ride. I guess he and I just got too big for that, but in my eyes one is never too big for a tractor ride!

Eating ice cream is also a favorite past time of mine. It doesn’t bother me if it is hot outside or not, I’ll always eat it in my Longaberger sundae cup. In butternut, of course. This weekend I was able to enjoy it while watching the 8 goslings we have develop into mature geese. They are the cutest things!

My ice cream sundae.

My ice cream sundae.

Lucy and Rickey, and Fred and Ethyl have raised the best babies ever!

Looks like I've got all my ducks in a row.  Woops, I meant geese!

Looks like I’ve got all my ducks in a row. Woops, I meant geese!

This weekend I was also able to spend some quality time with my family. My aunt is turning 60 in a few weeks, so we were able to throw her a surprise birthday party. Now keeping secrets for longer than a week in my family is practically impossible, but we were able to.

My family!

My family!

It was very enjoyable to see everyone coming together for a celebration. There were people of all ages who came to celebrate the life of a woman who has touched us all. The decorations gave a country chic feel and we can’t forget about the food. Mind you grilling is what fuels the soul and there are only a few things better than grilled food.

While taking a walk I randomly walked upon this turtle. What surprised me the most about this particular fella was that he never once hid from me. He kept his little hands and feet out of the shell and those little eyes were peering everywhere. I pulled my camera out once again to snap a quick photo. Luckily he wasn’t camera shy either!

The friendly turtle.

The friendly turtle.

After some time spent inside slaving over my managerial accounting book it was time to go back to the city. My time at home made me realize the country will always be a part of me, but right now my life is taking me to get my MBA. It’s like my mom always tells me “this will always be your home to come to.”

Totaloo!

Abby Rose

 

Just a few more fun pictures!

I just love this picture.  It captures the country chic feel of the party.

I just love this picture. It captures the country chic feel of the party.

 

The sun is setting in Illinois.

The sun is setting in Illinois.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2014 by in Loving Life and tagged , , , , .