Mud On Her Boots

DIY's, Life Stories, and Travel Adventures from the view of a twenty something.

The Persimmon Seed: An Old Wives Tail?

I was chatting with a few of the women in my office a few weeks ago. The topic of the frigid Mid – West weather came up. The ladies were saying it was going to be another cold one, so of course, I started telling them about the classic tale of the persimmon seed. Most everyone I told the story to laughed at me.

Just for size.

Just for size.

When my high school PE teacher told me the story I chuckled to myself and went home and hunted for a persimmon tree. I don’t remember what symbols were in the seeds that year, but the thrill of finding out what was inside was my favorite part. I like to compare it to opening Christmas presents and learning what the gift is.

The talk in the office made me want to find some seeds and cut them in half. But first, everyone needs to know the story.

The symbol inside the persimmon seed is supposed to predict the weather. A person has to cut the seed in half. Think of the first time you had to fold a piece of paper. The persimmon seed needs to be cut in half like a hot dog, not a hamburger. Once inside, the image of either a fork, spoon, or knife will be inside.

So hard to cut in half!

So hard to cut in half!

A fork means it will be a mild winter. A spoon resembles as shovel, so there will be a lot of snow. The knife resembles a cold winter. Sort of like a the wind cuts through you like a knife.

I like to cut into a few to get a proper prediction of the weather. Here is what I got this year!

2 spoons and 1 knife

2 spoons and 1 knife

We will see if the weather person is right, or the persimmon seed. So far the temperatures have been extremely cold and there have been two snow falls before Thanksgiving.

Totaloo!

Abby Rose

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in Loving Life and tagged , , .