Mud On Her Boots

DIY's, Life Stories, and Travel Adventures from the view of a twenty something.

Family Sign: DIY

Materials

  •             Your Choice of paint colors
  •             Computer
  •             Screw Driver
  •             Hangers
  •             An old door panel or cabinet door
  •             Hammer
  •             Pencil
  •             Paint Brush (Small)

To be honest, I have gotten most of my DIY ideas off Pinterest and added my own little spin.

For my signs I chose to use the word family.  My mom wanted hers to hang in the kitchen where we gather to eat, talk, do homework, cook, or simply relax.

The yellow one!

The yellow one!

To start, off I tore apart an old door, with the help of my dad, to get these beautiful panels.  Next I had to decide what side of the panel I wanted to use and let it sit.

I then went to the computer and chose a font and size I liked for the word family (It is easier to choose a thick font than a skinny one for painting purposes).  Once that was printed, I cut out the letters and placed them on the panel the way I thought looked nice.  I then traced the letters lightly onto the wood.

Now for paint; I carefully filled in the words with my paint brush and choice of colors.  I let mine dry for six (6) hours and did a second cote.  For the yellow one I taped the edges and painted the outside yellow.  For the black one I used a screwdriver to paint to get my desired pattern. Finally add a clear cote and hanger.

The back. I always sign my name on the back and date it.

The back. I always sign my name on the back and date it.

Enjoy your DIY family sign!

Totaloo

Abby Rose

My mom and I with her sign I made.

My mom and I with her sign I made.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2013 by in Hooked on DIY's and tagged , , .