Mud On Her Boots

DIY's, Life Stories, and Travel Adventures from the view of a twenty something.

Dreams Really Do Come True

My friend, Ellyn, and I met our first day of actual classes in college. Unfortunately, or rather more fortunately, in the subject we both hate most; math… She is from Illinois, and at the time had dreams of attending nursing school. I also being from Illinois, had aspirations of being an environmental biologist (that didn’t last long).

We hit it off from day one and became instant friends. I remember at the end of our first semester of college we stayed up till the wee hours of the morning studying for that stinking math final. Both of us were on the edge of getting either one grade or the other. I have no idea what either of us ended up with, all I remember is the famous “tree” for 3 that our professor enjoyed mispronouncing.

Ellyn and I.

Ellyn and I.

Over the course of our year and a half together, we attended concerts, took those famous smoke break drives to St. Louis, cried over boys, and she even got to practice her nursing skills on me (I am a proud FIRST patient). Not to mention, I had my own hair stylist because we all know how I can’t fix my own hair. All of these things we did together.

After Ellyn finished her time with me she was accepted into Barnes Jewish College Golfarb School of Nursing. Although we were apart we still stayed in touch via constant phone calls and trips to see each other. But finally, after all those years of talking about graduating the day finally came and we were able to celebrate together.

Saturday April 26, 2014 was the day we had been talking about. We were both official graduates of college and are able to start our own working careers. Ellyn will finally get to enjoy her dream of being a nurse to more than just one patient and I will continue following my dreams.

Ellyn and her parents

Ellyn and her parents

That day was an emotional day for me because it was hard to believe after four years of talking about it we were able to live it. And I wouldn’t have missed it for the world! To see one of my best friends follow her dream and support her through the hard times as well as celebrate the best of times. Fortunately there will be many more celebrations to come in our long live ahead of us.

Totaloo!
Abby Rose

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2014 by in Loving Life and tagged , , , .