Mud On Her Boots

DIY's, Life Stories, and Travel Adventures from the view of a twenty something.

I just wanna run

I just wanna run, hide it away… Are the lyrics to some song that sticks in my head when someone says they feel like going on a run. Those words have meant a little more to me this week than simply going for a run.

When life gets tough most just want to run the opposite direction. And that is what I did this weekend. I have been overwhelmed with the amount of homework this term, schedule changes, and the ever occurring challenges ladies face with men.

I also have to add that my sleep patterns have been interrupted because of these changes. Everyone knows not to mess with my sleep patterns. It is necessary for me to function.

The best place to go when overwhelmed is home. To me, there is nothing better than smelling the air, hearing the water running, and being around familiar faces.   I was finally able to see Lucy and Ricky’s babies. They had 7!! Being home also allows me to get away from technology and have a break from the busy city life.

While home, I also get a dose of reality from my mother. Plus some much needed advice. She always says we take a moment to figure out problems, but we should always go back to face them head on. I like those words because taking a moment allows me to figure out how to best approach the issue.

My geese and their goslings.

My geese and their goslings.

My dad and brother also assist in the process too. Its mushroom season, and he knows I haven’t been out yet, so we went. And to top it all off, we even had time to go fishing. Parker, is there to tell silly jokes and even help with homework by challenging my thinking. Although I complain about his stronger than a bear hugs, it’s nice to receive them.

In the end, when the weekend is over, it is time for me to go back and face reality. I come home with a mind running wild with thoughts and leave with a clear head and answers. In the end, after a busy week we all just need a break. It is nice to be able to get away. For me that place is home. I have the comfort of family and friends.

Both Lucy and Ricky and their babies.

Both Lucy and Ricky and their babies.

What or where is your sanctuary? Because deep down, we all have one.

Totaloo!

Abby Rose

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2014 by in Loving Life and tagged , , , , .